- YugabyteDB Anywhere < 2.16.2
In earlier versions of YugabyteDB Anywhere, when a node was released to the node pool, data on the node and yugabyte directories were not properly deleted. When a previously released node was re-added to the cluster, the cluster does not properly bootstrap the new node since the data and yugabyte directories already exist.
To ensure than an on-prem node is safe to add to the cluster, manually perform the cleanup steps to ensure the relevant directories are deleted.
Note: This guide assumes you have already removed the node from the cluster and released the instance back to the node pool
1. SSH in to the removed node as a user with sudo or root permissions.
2. Manually wipe the disks.
Note: This command assumes that your data directory is in the default location of
sudo rm -rf /mnt/d*/
3. On YugabyteDB Anywhere In the
Actions > Edit Universe dropdown, use these documentation steps to add a node to the universe
We are deleting the data on the disks so that if the node is added to the cluster again, it will be prepared as a brand new node in the cluster